Sunday, October 17, 2021

Malaysia in the process of amending Acts in order to ratify RCEP: Minister

Earlier this week, Brunei became the sixth country to ratify the free trade agreement (FTA).

For the CPTPP, Mr Lim said the FTA was signed on Mar 8, 2018 by 11 Asia-Pacific nations including Malaysia.

“The CPTPP pact has gradually entered into force since December 2018 for Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, Vietnam and Peru. The other three signatories, namely Brunei, Chile and Malaysia, have not ratified and enforced CPTPP.

“The government has intensified efforts to complete the amendments to the related Acts to enable Malaysia to ratify CPTPP,” he said.

According to him, six Acts have been passed in Parliament to date.

The eight remaining Acts that need to be amended and approved include four Acts under the Human Resources Ministry – the Employment Act 1955, Trade Unions Act 1959, Labour Ordinance (Sabah Chapter 67), and Labour Ordinance (Sarawak Chapter 76).

The others are the Geographical Indications Act 2000, Patents Act 1983 and Copyright Act 1987 under the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry, as well as the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998 under the Communications and Multimedia Ministry.

This article originally appeared on the CNA
Source link Author on date 2021-10-13 06:55:00


More Articles Like This